1.) Buffering by Hannah Hart

Autobiographies are always interesting and this book was no exception.  Most books released by youtubers I have thought to be poorly written or not interesting enough to pick up.  However, as one who keeps much of her private life away from the public eye, I was curious to see what Hannah’s story was.  Not only was it inspiring (yet devastating), but it was also extremely well written.  This would be a good autobiography to start out with if you’re looking to get into the genre.

2.) The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

This was the first novel I read this year and it’s hard to describe and review because it is a book targeted towards a younger audience, but the themes and imagery become dark and often scary.  The story whisked me off my feet with the whimsy and detail of the storytelling and I appreciated the frustrations the main character faced of being a “powerless” child.

3.) Unbearable Lightness: A Story of Loss and Gain by Portia de Rossi

Another autobiography, yet this one is on a different note than Hart’s.  De Rossi shares her journey of struggling with an eating disorder and her path that led her to who she is today.

4.) Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Gay love stories are always great to read because rather than concretely falling in love, the characters have to discover their feelings and are confused by them, which means more description about how the other person makes them feel.  This novel did just that and I love reading first person books from a male perspective.

5.) The Color Purple by Alice Walker

A classic I had yet to pick up.  I saw the musical earlier in the year and was ashamed with myself that I’d never read the book.  It lives up to the hype and its place as one of the most classic and inspiring novels in American literary history.

 

