Hi all, starting a new posting series for when I rewatch movies I haven’t seen in a long time.  Each will be entitled “Being a “Grown Up”” and will consist of 5 things I didn’t remember/catch the first time I watched the film.  This week’s installation: The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1996).

1. The Wizard of Oz Reference which changed my LIFE

The Wizard of Oz is one of my favorite movies of all time, so I was overjoyed to hear the very obvious reference.  It alludes to the Wicked Witch releasing her flying monkeys not chase after Dorothy and her friends in the forest.  I’ll insert a clip from youtube here.

2. Sexual and language innuendos

Most of these occur when Esmerelda and Phoebus first encounter each other in the church.  A nice touch only the adults viewing will understand

3. Frollo is tempted by lust?

The song Hellfire is literally about Frollo being tempted by Esmerelda in a sexual way, not only ridiculing her sinful acts.  This is something I obviously didn’t pick up on when I was younger.

4. The extreme (and dark) themes of Christianity and damnation

I loved rewatching this movie because its commentary on “monsters” versus “men” and how “men” are quick to condemn other humans when they are in no position to do so.  Frollo is the prime example of this, where Esmerelda is the example of grace and compassion, which is much of what being a Christian means to many.

5. Why are the gargoyles IN THIS MOVIE?

Okay, yes I understand that this is a children’s movie and there needed to be comic relief.  But they take away from the main plot and were totally not needed.  It keeps this movie from being as amazing as it could’ve been.

